Frequently Asked Questions

Will the Illinois CCW Permit be honored by other states?

Yes – However it changes from time to time.

**Double check before entering other states** Those states are :

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Wisconsin

Why would I want or need the Utah license if i get the Illinois License?

This all falls upon the licensee and their wants or needs. Most people who live in the Southern Illinois area travel out of Illinois at sometime. The Utah permit allows an Illinois resident to carry in 30+ states. Click HERE for a map of states that honor the Utah License.

What is the cost of an Illinois Class?

The Illinois Class is offered three ways:


A full 16 hour course is $150 (Plus $10 Range Fee)

Utah Upgrade for $50 (Plus $10 Range Fee)

Other Discounts May be Offered

What is the cost of a Utah CCW Class?

Utah CCW Class is now offered along with Illinois for a $50 upgrade

Do you offer a 12 hour IL class?

***Update as of November 2015***

BTBPD has updated the IL class and require all students to attend the full 16hrs. We now offer the Utah upgrade along with the IL class. After this 16hr class with the Utah upgrade you will be able to apply for permits in Illinois, Utah, and Florida. With this offering we have restructured our pricing of $150/person for Illinois with a $50 charge for the Utah upgrade.

Which class do I need/How many hours of training do I need?

ISP has posted a list of approved courses that they will honor for approved prior training. They are giving 4 hour credits and 8 hour credits. The total amount allowed is 8 hours of total credit.


*** BTBPD requires all students to attend the full 16hr class***

You have no approved prior class = 16 hour course needed

You have an 8 hour credit = 8 hour course needed

You have a 4 hour credit = 16 hour course needed (discounted price)

You have two separate 4 hour credits = 8 hour course needed (Example-Utah Permit and IDNR Hunters Safety Course)

You have an 8 hour credit and a 4 hour credit = 8 hour course needed (Example-Prior Military and IDNR Hunter Safety)


ISP Prior Training Approved Credit List

What do I need to bring to CCL/Renewal Class?

Illinois CCW Class & Renewal Class


State ID/DL

FOID Card

Pistol and Holster

60 Rounds of Ammunition (min)

Eye and Ear Protectoin

Baseball Style hat recommended

A ‘cover-up’ garment (ie – vest, coat, shirt long enough to cover gun and holster

If you have prior training credits, you need to bring proper documentation to show what courses you have taken (IE -DD-214, Certification of Training Course, IDNR Hunters Safety Course Card/Green Card)

Any personal items you may need during class. Lunch, snacks, soda/water.


Utah CCW Class


State ID/DL

Black Ink Pen

*NO FIREARM*

How do I get to Rod and Gun Club in Schuline IL?

9560 Schuline Rd, Sparta, IL 62286, USA

Where can I find the Illinois CCW Law or 'The Act'?

Illinois Compiled Statute 430 ILCS 66/

Payments and Refunds

Payments are final and non-refundable. If you can not attend a class we will be happy to use the deposit/payment for a future class.